Barbie Coffee Shop Playset Review

Before this playset was released I was searching for a proper looking Barbie scale coffee machine without any real success. There was older Re-Ment set with a very realistic coffee machine but no one was selling it and if it was on Ebay, it was for a ridiculously high price. Then I saw a coffee shop playset for a Japanese doll but there was a super high postage so it was not worth it. And then this Barbie set was announced and I couldn’t have been happier to finally get a whole coffee related set!

I got it for 25 Eur from an European shop long before it was available on Amazon.

The set comes in a medium sized box that is much thinner than I would have anticipated!
I haven’t owned any big Barbie playsets before so it was a fun suprise to find a users manual inside 😀

Here are some unedited images of the opened set.

It was easy to remove from box but unfortunately I damaged the background which is pretty cool and I would have wanted to use it in my pics. The plastic with all the small items was glued to the back of the box and I was not careful enough to remove it very slowely without ripping off some pieces of the cardboard.

Now here you can see how the counter looks from the backside. I have seen some people repainted it and so I would say it is pretty easy to make your own coffee counter!

Next thing of course is the amount of small items that come with his set. It is a decent coffee shop collection of milk jug, glasses, plates, sweets and even a cupcake. The coffee machine of this set is meant to be played – you can insert an empty glass, turn the wheel and the drink just falls into the glass, so kids can actually emulate coffee making which I think is very nice. I would have liked the milk and chocolate jugs, and the tiny jars to have additional stickers though – like Re-Ment sets always come with tiny stickers.

Now some pictures with the barista and all items placed on the counter:

And finally some unedited images of the first coffee addict visiting the shop. There is a lot of potential in how to repaint this set or use the small items in your dioramas for creative photos, so I would say it is absolutely worth a buy!

Leave a comment